Sideshow Theatre Company Explodes with BIPOC Representation

Sideshow Theatre Company is welcoming eleven new company members, six ensemble members and five artistic associates, respectively.

Ensemble members include Wardell Julius Clark, Greg Geffrard, Arti Ishak, Krystal Ortiz, Gabrielle Randle-Bent and Netta Walker. Artistic Associates include Patrick Agada, J. Nicole Brooks, Brynne Frauenhoffer, Jyreika Guest and Sarah Price.

These new additions to the company are predominantly BIPOC artists. This influx of representation marks a fresh and necessary wave of diversification in theatre. Continue reading “Sideshow Theatre Company Explodes with BIPOC Representation”

The Black Theater Alliance Awards Announces Their 2020 Nominations

The Black Theater Alliance Awards, Inc. (BTAA) Announces Nominations for The 26th Annual Black Theater Alliance/Ira Aldridge Awards

From press release: In the midst of extremely difficult times, BTAA is most proud to announce BTAA nominees for productions presented between August 1, 2019 and July 31, 2020. In an extremely difficult season, excellence in the performing arts was supreme. BTAA saw 47 live productions. Virtual presentations are not considered, and 32 different production companies are participants. Having said that, 28 categories were immersed with 131 nominees. BTAA reviews equity and non-equity productions and performances; equity and non-equity performers are considered in the same category of competition. However, only Black theater productions companies are considered for The Negro Ensemble Company.

This year, BTAA has inducted a legendary name to a BTAA category: Tony Award winning singer and actress, Melba Moore. The Best Actress in a Play (Non-Resident) will be The Melba Moore Award. Date, Time, and Place for The 26th Annual Black Theater Alliance/ Ira Aldridge Awards will be at a later date.

Continue reading “The Black Theater Alliance Awards Announces Their 2020 Nominations”